Call for Web Science Track (6 Page Papers)

Important Dates

  • Paper submission: Monday, 16th December, 2013 (23:59 Hawaii Standard Time)
  • Notifications of acceptance: Monday, 27th January, 2014.

The International World Wide Web Conference (WWW) is an annual international conference focused on the future direction of the World Wide Web. This year, WWW 2014 will be held at Seoul, the heart of the Korean culture and education, as well as politics and economics. In recognition and support of the aims, values, and achievements of Web Science as a novel interdisciplinary research field, WWW 2014 will feature a Web Science Track.

Web Science focuses on the analysis and design of Web architecture and applications, as well as studies of the people, organizations, and policies that shape and are shaped by the Web. Accordingly, Web Science embraces the study of the Web as a vast information network of people and communities. It also includes the study of people and communities using the digital records of user activity mediated by the Web. An understanding of human behavior and social interaction can contribute to our understanding of the Web, and data obtained from the Web can contribute to our understanding of human behavior and social interaction.

All track papers will be published in the companion proceedings of the WWW conference.
A special issue of the Journal of Web Science will be published with extended versions of selected papers from this track.

This track focuses on all aspects of Web Science. Papers that demonstrate interdisciplinary work will be particularly welcomed.

Submission Requirements:

All submitted papers must:

  • be written in English;
  • contain author names, affiliations, and email addresses;
  • be formatted according to the ACM SIG Proceedings template ( with a font size no smaller than 9pt;
  • be in PDF, and formatted for US Letter size;
  • occupy no more than six pages in total. Papers longer than 6 pages could be rejected without review.

It is the authors’ responsibility to ensure that their submissions adhere strictly to the required format. Submissions that do not comply with the above guidelines may be rejected without review.

Papers should be submitted through EasyChair.

For any inquires please contact the programme chairs; Matthew Weber and Harith Alani, at

Topics (non-exclusive list)

  • Analysis of human behavior and social interaction using data from social media, online networks and communities
  • Methodological challenges of analyzing Web-based large-scale human interaction and behavior
  • Network analysis of the Web and of Web-based data
  • Collective intelligence, collaborative production, and social computing
  • Structure and organization on the Web
  • Social interaction with, and influence by, internet of things
  • Web communities and online lifestyles
  • Web, society, and innovation
  • Intellectual property and the commons
  • Governance, trust, and privacy
  • Web access, literacy, and democracy
  • Knowledge, education, and scholarship on and through the Web
  • People-driven Web technologies, including social search, open data, and new interfaces

Track Chairs

Prof. Wendy Hall (University of Southampton, UK)
Prof. Sung-Hyon Myaeng (KAIST, South Korea)

Track Programme Chairs

Dr Harith Alani (Knowledge Media Institute, UK)
Dr Matthew Weber (Rutgers University, USA)

Track Programme Committee

Robert Ackland (The Australian National University, Australia)
Nitin Agarwal (University of Arkansas at Little Rock, USA)
Hans Akkermans (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Pramod Anantharam (Knoesis Center, USA)
Lora Aroyo (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Youngmin Baek (Yonsei University, South Korea)
Payam Barnaghi (University of Surrey, UK)
Tamas David-Barrett (University Oxford, UK)
Stephane B. Bazan (Universite Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth, Lebanon)
Kalina Bontcheva (University of Sheffield, UK)
John Breslin (National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland)
Pamela Briggs (Northumbria University, UK)
Gregoire Burel (The Open University, UK)
Elizabeth Ampaeli Cano (Aston University, UK)
Leslie Carr (University of Southampton, UK)
Ciro Cattuto (ISI Foundation, Italy)
Meeyoung Cha (KAIST, South Korea)
Smitashree Choudhury (KMI, The Open University, UK)
Edward Curry (National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland)
Mathieu D’Aquin (Knowledge Media Institute, the Open University, UK)
Pieter De Leenheer (VU Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Annalisa De Liddo, KMi (Open University, UK)
Stefan Dietze (L3S Research Center, Germany)
Miriam Fernandez (KMI, Open University, UK)
Emilio Ferrara (Indiana University, Bloomington, USA)
Alessandro Flammini (Indiana University, USA)
Fabien Gandon (Inria, France)
Darren Gergle (Northwestern University, USA)
Thomas Gottron (University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
Paul Groth (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Simon Harper (University of Manchester, UK)
Conor Hayes (National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland)
Laura Hollink (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Clare Hooper (University of Southampton, UK)
Karolin Eva Kappler (Fern Universitat in Hagen, Germany)
Ricardo Kawase (L3S Research Center & Leibniz Universitat Hannover, Germany)
Hong-Gee Kim (Seoul National University, South Korea)
Yong-Chan Kim (Yonsei University, South Korea)
Jerome Kunegis (University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
Wonjae Lee (KAIST, South Korea)
Yu-Ru Lin (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Catherine Marshall (Microsoft Research, USA)
Yelena Mejova (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar)
Elaheh Momeni (University of Vienna, Austria)
Alexandre Monnin (University Pantheon – Sorbonne (Paris I), France)
Claudia Niederee (L3S Research Center, Germany)
Natasha Noy (Stanford University, USA)
Kieron O’Hara (University of Southampton, UK)
Katya Ognyanova (Northeastern University, USA)
Han Woo Park (Yeungnam University, South Korea)
Denis Parra (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, Chile)
Hemant Purohit (Ohio Center of Excellence in Knowledge-enabled Computing (Kno.e.sis), USA)
Daniele Quercia (Yahoo Labs, Spain)
Miriam Redi (Eurecom, France)
Matthew Rowe (Lancaster University, UK)
Hassan Saif, KMI (Open University, UK)
Ralph Schroeder (Oxford Internet Institute, UK)
Zhenning Shangguan (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
Cuihua Shen (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Elena Simperl (University of Southampton, UK)
Steffen Staab (University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
Markus Strohmaier (University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
Ramine Tinati (University of Southampton, UK)
Thanassis Tiropanis (University of Southampton, UK)
Christoph Trattner (Technical University of Graz, Austria)
Michalis Vafopoulos (National Technical University of Athens, Greece)
Markel Vigo (University of Manchester, UK)
Claudia Wagner (GESIS – Leibniz Institute for Social Sciences, Germany)
Mark Weal (University of Southampton, UK)
Craig Webber (The University of Southampton, UK)
Ingmar Weber (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar)
Tingshao Zhu (Institute of Psychology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)