Call for Demos

map korea

Important Dates

  • Paper Submission Deadline : Dec. 22, 2013
  • Notifications of Acceptance : Jan. 26, 2014
  • Final Submission Deadline for Camera-ready Version : Feb. 5, 2014

The Demo Track allows researchers and practitioners to demonstrate new systems in a dedicated session. Demo submissions must be based on an implemented and tested system that pursues one or more innovative ideas in the interest areas of the conference. Demos from the traditional research community are of course strongly encouraged, but proposals from other activity areas are also welcome, as we envisage to open demo sessions to the larger public. Software (including games or learning platforms) and hardware demos will also be considered, as long as they show innovative use of Web-based techniques.

Each demo submission must make clear which aspects of the system will be demonstrated, and how. They should strive to state the significance of the contribution to Web technology or applications. Demos will be peer-reviewed by members of the Demo Track Program Committee, who will judge the originality, significance, quality, and clarity of each submission.

At least one author of each accepted demo paper must register for and attend the conference, and demonstrate the system during the demo sessions (please see the Conference Policies). Each accepted demo paper will be allocated no more than four pages in the conference proceedings. Demo authors are not required to transfer copyright.

Submission guidelines

Demo submissions must be formatted according to the ACM SIG Proceedings Template and are limited to four pages. Submissions must be in PDF and must be done through the EasyChair system.

To better identify the value of demos, as well as to reach out to external audiences, we also encourage authors to submit a pointer to a screencast, using web-accessible platforms such as Vimeo or Youtube. The maximum duration of screencasts is 10 minutes.

Demo Track Chairs

Program Committee Members

  • Omar Alonso (Microsoft)
  • Ching Man Au Yeung (Noah’s Ark Lab. Huawei)
  • Amit Awekar (Indian Institute of Technology)
  • Luciano Barbosa (AT&T Labs-Research)
  • Khalid Belhajjame (Paris Dauphine University)
  • Jim Blomo (
  • Olivier Bolssier (DES Mines Saint-Etienne)
  • Irene Celino (CEFRIEL-ICT Inst.)
  • Byron Choi (Texas State University)
  • Yon Dohn Chung (Korea University)
  • Eli Cortez (Neemu Technologies)
  • Alfredo Cuzzocrea (ICAR-CNR and University of Calabria)
  • Byron Gao (Texas State University)
  • Christophe Guéret (DANS)
  • Shengbo Guo (Samsung)
  • Mark Michael Hall (University of Sheffield)
  • Harry Halpin (World Wide Web Consortium)
  • Dominique Hazael-Massieux (World Wide Web Consortium)
  • Steven C.H. Hoi (Nanyang Technological University)
  • Yi Hong (WalmartLabs)
  • Eero Hyvönen (Aalto University and University of Helsinki)
  • Jiwoon Jeon (Google)
  • Kyomin Jung (KAIST)
  • Zoubida Kedad (University of Versailles)
  • Chulyun Kim (Gachon University)
  • Kwang-Hyun  Kim (NHN Corporation)
  • Irwin King (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • Sangkeun Lee (Korea University)
  • Lipyeow Lim (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
  • Huan Liu (Arizona State University)
  • Mirella M. Moro (Univ. Federal de Minas Gerais – UFMG)
  • Hao Ma (Microsoft Research)
  • Jun-Ki Min (Korea University of Technology and Education)
  • Kyriakos Mouratidis (Singapore Management University)
  • Hye-Young Paik (University of New South Wales)
  • Sanghyun Park (Yonsei University)
  • Carlos Eduardo Pires (UFCG)
  • Sourav S Bhowmick (Nanyang Technological University)
  • Mohamed Sharaf (University of Queensland)
  • Ryan Shaw (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
  • Cheng Sheng (Google)
  • Fabrizio Silvestri (ISTI – CNR)
  • Damires Souza (IFPB)
  • Georgy Vouros (University of Piraeus)
  • Xufei Wang (Arizona State University)
  • Taifeng Wang (Microsoft Research Asia)
  • Xiaokui Xiao (Nanyang Technological University)
  • Hwanjo Yu (POSTECH)
  • Rui Zhang (University of Melbourne)
  • Shuigeng Zhou (Fudan University)